UMP (Unified Media Platform)

7.5 Screenshots

 

Yet another function of the UMP, which is seldom seen in comparable devices, is the ability to take a screenshot at any time in the OSD. Originally, this functionality was implemented to ease the support for the device, by eliminating the necessity to describe the visual representation of the situation in words.

 

To take a screenshot, navigate to any part of the OSD, or simply remain in the Main Menu and press the Screenshot button on your remote control (UMP-R-1XX) or ‘F10’ on the keyboard (UMP-R-3XX). So as not to interfere with the image being taken, no visual confirmation is displayed regarding whether the screenshot was saved.

 

All screenshots are saved as 24bit bitmap files in the directory ‘screens’ in the Images share (/mnt/data/Images). This format was chosen to ensure the correct representation of the original screen, without using compression typically found in other formats. Obviously, these files take up more space than necessary, and because the default output format cannot be changed, a Helper script is provided, which converts all bitmap images in the ‘screens’ directory to Portable Network Graphic (PNG) files. The original BMP files are not deleted by default.

 

To convert the screenshots to the PNG format, access the Web Interface of the device, either locally or from a networked computer, and navigate to Plugins -> Helpers. Here you should see a list of Helper scripts. Click on ‘screenshots’ near the bottom of the list.

 

Please note that because the OSD doesn’t display file extensions by default, you will be unable to tell the difference between the originals and the resulting PNG files when navigating through the ‘screens’ directory in the Images Menu. To do so, open the File Manager from the Commands Menu in the OSD or access the Web Interface and navigate to Files -> Advanced Media Library -> Images -> Images -> Screen.

 

Alternatively, you can open the Images share from a networked computer, and delete the unnecessary files that way. Please note that it is recommended to rebuild the Media Cache after deleting the old files. This can be done by selecting Rebuild UMP Media Cache from the Commands menu, or by selecting the cache Helper script under Plugins -> Helpers -> Cache in the Web Interface.