UMP (Unified Media Platform)

 2.2 Samba Service

 

The UMP devices provide, among other things, a Samba service (also referred to as SMB, Server Message Block or Windows File Sharing service). This is the most common way of accessing the storage facility of the UMP via the network in most environments. As opposed to many similar devices, the UMP supports both NTLMv1 and NTLMv2, in other words, Windows Vista and Windows 7 clients should be able to access the shares without any further configuration to the OS.

 

By default, the only user with permissions to access the Samba shares is the default user of the device, ‘media’ with the password ‘media’. User management can be performed in the Web Interface under Shares -> Users.

 

To configure the Samba service on the device, access the Web Interface and navigate to Shares -> Local Shares. Here you will find a list of the 8 default shares provided by the device. Each one of these shares can be disabled by removing the tick from its entry on the page, and selecting Save Sharing Settings at the bottom. Alternatively, you can also disable the automatic sharing of connected USB storage devices by choosing Disabled in the USB SMB Sharing menu.

 

Please also note that the sharing services and client services are completely separate. If you disable the Samba service, you can still browse the network and mount Samba shares from other devices. Disabling USB Sharing does not influence the autoplay or automount functionality of the device.

 

If you are having trouble accessing, moving, renaming or deleting files in the Samba shares, you may want to re-enforce the existing permissions on these files. To do so, select Reset Permissions from the Commands menu in the OSD or ‘reset_permissions’ in the Web Interface under Plugins -> Helpers. This resets the permissions at a filesystem level, thus it should also solve similar problems for FTP or NFS connections, too.

 

To completely disable the Samba service on the device, select Disabled in the SMB/CIFS Service menu. Note that this is not recommended.

 

To restart the Samba service after saving settings, you can select ‘restart_smb’ under Plugins -> Helpers in the Web Interface or select Restart Samba Services from the Commands menu in the OSD.